Series inspiration

Looking over the book titles, I’ve been arguing with the last one.  It’s funny how the series came together, now it’s just a matter of doing the work to get the words on pages.  But, that last title refused to give me a hint.

Grousing to myself over the missing element, since the book titles do kind of make a statement (unintended, I swear!) I argued and tried several different working titles.  None fit.  Either they were too long, too short, or just felt…. stilted.

I gain a ton of inspiration from role play – at least for the characters, but the scenes that I write out are almost all from dreaming.  Don’t ask me why, it just seems to work out that way.

Then, out of the blue, the thunderbolt struck.  Not the same one that told me how the series was gong to work, but similar.  It falls  back to an old poem I wrote in high school.  One I did a self-published, short-run hard copy edition of.  (No, I probably won’t republish that trash, except maybe for the individual pieces that belong to, or are claimed by different books.)

The poem itself was inspired by the scene in Watership Down with the strange rabbits that had art and poetry.  However, this poem is more introspective than theirs.

“Who Are You?”

Who are you is the question,

I am I is the reply,

Who are you is the question,

Don’t you know I am I?

Who are you is the question,

I am you is the reply

Who are you is the question,

Don’t you know you are I?

Who are you is the question,

I am you, so you are I

Who are you comes the question

You are I, so I am I

Who ARE you??

Yeah, that’s what inspired the entire plot of the series.  Hope you have fun learning the answer to “Who are you?”

Comments and questions welcome.

