Book Review: Call of the Herald

This one I picked up because I have been following Brian on Twitter for a while.  He’s been fun to talk to, and to read for his tweets, not to mention, he’s also funny.

I started it without any idea what I was getting into, and it rapidly sucked me into the story.  I still had no idea what I was in for, and I enjoyed every minute I pried out of my overly full schedule to indulge in a little escapism.

The main character is wonderfully developed – a case of going from no one to someone, and the progression is quite believable.  The supporting characters are also wonderfully developed and believable.

As far as the story itself goes, it is fast paced, tightly woven, with enough kinds and twists to keep the adult reader interested the entire way through.  There are also enough subplots to keep everyone’s mind working, yet the initial value of the words are written simple enough to keep younger readers without being condescending to them.

While I feel like there should  be more than this stark, simple bit, I don’t want to do so.  It has to be experienced in order to be fully enjoyed, and if I say too much else, it would only put in spoiler after spoiler.

Last thoughts?  WHERE IS THE REST OF THE BLOOMIN’ STORY?  I hit the end of the book before I new it was coming, and am now moping that it will be about a month before I can get the rest.

Brian, you are a wonderful, dirty, excellent writer who knows how to leave your readers begging for more.

 

If you would like for me to review your work, please go here to contact with me in order to make arrangements.  Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Comments and questions welcome.

