Book Review – Brush With Darkness

If you like reading about ancient Rome, fantasy, war, and politics, then I would strongly recommend checking out this one.

It is set in a Romanesque setting, and follows the main character from the battle field, into the halls of the government, and back out to battle.  It is a tad slow to get started, as most of the political war stories I’ve run into have been, but once started, the pace is spot on.  Fast enough to keep you eager for the next page, yet slow enough to let you pick up some of the fine detail along the way.

It has a wonderful reading flavor that I have not encountered before, and a magic system that is going to be fun learning more about.  There are several subplots that swirl throughout, each contributing to the main theme of the book, and definitely enough to keep you reading, and wanting more.  The author states this is a good stand alone book, and I have to agree.  When you come to the end, all of the loose threads of the tightly woven plot have been neatly tied off with slip knots.  The story itself is finished, yet there are enough hints to follow up on that I am sure the next book to come won’t be entirely unknown either.

This is not your usual tale of self-discovery and self-education.  The main character has enough support from the secondary characters to give him plenty of depth, and the world itself provides a textured background that gives the entire piece the feeling that it could still come about.

One a scale of 5 stars, I give this one a 6.  I look forward to returning to it time and again as the years go by.  Definitely proud to display this one on my bookshelves.

 

If you would like for me to review your work, please go here to contact with me in order to make arrangements.  Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Brush With Darkness

    1. This one is a new release by an independent author. He’s got 2 other books in the series out, according to his Goodreads profile, and I can’t wait to read them.

      Thanks for the visit, and the reply. I try to provide enough information in my reviews to spark interest for the books, but not give away any spoilers. Seems I’ve done well on this one. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments and questions welcome.

