Movie Review – Guardian of the Galaxy

Wow.  What on Earth was THAT?

Not what I expected at all.  I have seen some other reviews float through cyberspace, so was ready for just about anything.  Well, anything except what actually happened.

Previous reviews have stated that Rocket or Groot were the best characters, so at least I was prepared for that much of it.  But, the premise was even more of an understatement.  Not going to say weak, exactly, but not strong either.  This is an Avenger’s knock off, so there are going to be some gaping issues – though the mix of characters should have helped to solve that much.  They didn’t.

The brains weren’t that smart, the muscle wasn’t that strong, the rogue element stole just about every scene, and Hulk’s replacement stole the entire movie with one scene.

The special effects had some spectacular moments, and some dismal failures.  Start Trek does the city destruction scenes much, much better.  Unless the falling ship was made out of some kind of ultra light material.  But, there are problems even with that possibility.  The blockade was great – loved how it was made, and how well it performed.  The space shots were awesome – not sure if they were generated, or adapted, but most of them conveyed the immense enormity of the arena the action was occurring in.  Beautiful, serene, and believable.  Not so sure about the physics of getting from point A to point B, but that could just be the techie/nerdy side of me coming out.  Most of the suspension of our CURRENT laws of physics were properly set up for the event.  A few were kind of weak, but this IS Hollywood after all.  They can’t get it all right ALL the time.

Was not impressed.  Though, I can see the possibility of this growing on me over time.  Right now, it’s debatable if I just lost over an hour of my life.  Can’t quite decided, which is why the jury is still out on this one.

Much as I looked forward to this one, not sure if I can give it a good rating.  Somewhere in the 2 to 3 out of 5 range is the first impression.  Might change that when I get back around to watching again… some years down the line.  A bit violent for young kids, a bit childish for most adults.  If the target audience is YA, then the rating can rise to the 3 or 4 out of 5.  But, for adults, I stand by the initial rating.  And, I’m someone who LIKES cartoons too!

Like I said, the jury is still out on this one.  I am Groot!  Cherrio!

Comments and questions welcome.

