Book Review – The Silver Arrow

I started this one expecting something entirely different than what I read.  Because of this, I almost put it down, but am so glad I did not.  It is written for the younger readers – middle school level, I think – which leads to some of the simplified descriptions I ran into.

A few small technicalities in the writing style which would not present a problem for the younger readers, but which are jarring to the more advanced reader.  Some of the descriptions feel like a two steps forward, one step back type dance.  Again, it’s minor, and does very little to distract from the overall story.

The story itself is a wonderful tale of self-discovery for the young main character.  He starts as a simple boy with a destiny he must discover.  This destiny involves three others, whom he has to find.  The flow of through the narrative is well done, carrying you along through the bends and turns of the plot with ease.  The conflict is well thought out, and how the different situations are answered by the characters are plausible.

This is the first book in the series, with a wonderful set up for the second book to follow.

Overall, I enjoyed it.  Once I realized which audience it was written for.  If you are looking for a good fantasy book as an adult, this one may not be right for you, though it is still a fun light read.  If, however, you are looking for a younger reader, this one would be a good fit.

For me, I would rate this one a 3.5 out of 5 because of the technical issues.  The story itself deserves a 4.

If you would like for me to review your work, please go here to contact with me in order to make arrangements.  Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Comments and questions welcome.

