Book Review – Designing for Shared Spaces

 

Ms. Caldwell has a wonderful short book so packed full of timely advice it will probably wind up being a great “go to” book for anyone living with others that just can’t stand the idea of a room remaining the same for any length of time.

With a minimum of pictures, and a lot of practical advice, this book helps demystify the process of making a shared space work.  And, work for more than one person at once.  Providing the basics, such as color combinations or lighting Ms. Caldwell explains how to achieve the maximum impact with a minimum of effort.  Her advice is structured for people of all experience levels in home decorating or room design.  About the only piece of information I did not see mentioned to alter the look of a room was the different ways of using window treatments.  However, some emphasis was placed on natural vs artificial light, so there are some hints about this point as well.

I do not have much exposure to other similar books, but from what I saw in the breakdowns to help make arrangements work in a room – either the furniture or the wall decorations – I can say the options mentioned here have a nice ring of good, solid advice.  Especially for those on a shoestring budget.

Over all, I give this one a solid 4 of 5 stars.  It is outside my normal genre, so I do not know how this compares to others, but I can see how the information provided in this work is solid and practical.

 

If you would like for me to review your work, please go here to contact with me in order to make arrangements.  Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Comments and questions welcome.

