Character Interview: Julie Ann Davidson

Somebody wants her sister dead … FBI Special Agent Ann Duncan knows how to face down danger, but once again, she’s not the target. Her baby sister, Joy Davidson, has stumbled upon a conspiracy and made some powerful enemies. Luck and God’s grace help Ann save her sister the first time, but she knows the bad guys will try again. With Patrick on a university tour and perhaps the most important case of her career weighing upon her mind, Ann must find the strength, wisdom, and heart to find out who wants her sister dead, what Joy discovered, and how to stop the conspirators. Ann instinctively knows that if she fails the Davidson case will only be the first of many tragedies.

 

Welcome again, and welcome back Julie.  Who do you have with you today?

  • Julie Ann Davidson

Ms.  Davidson, I tend to keep it more informal around here.  By any chance to you have a nickname you prefer, so we don’t have two Julies being addressed?

  • My full name is Julie Ann Davidson, but most people just call me Ann. The doctors told my parents I’d be a boy, so the plan was to name me Julian after my grandfather. Since Mom passed out upon learning she’d had a girl instead of a boy, Dad got to amend the name. I’m told he switched to Julie Ann with a shrug and a smile. In high school, my friend Rachel took to calling me Ann because of another friend with the same first name.

Thank you, Ann.  It can be a bit confusing when there are two people with the same name in the conversation.  Julie mentioned the story you are in during her author interview, and the fact that you are in the FBI tells me you are a strong woman.  What personality traits do you see in yourself that help you to excel in your job?

  • I am practical, pragmatic, methodical, and thorough. Since I don’t have my partner’s uncanny instincts, I have to rely upon my sharp eye for details and my relentless sense of “must figure this out right now, even if it costs me the night’s sleep”—grit or stubbornness?—in order to solve each case.

I’d say those help with any job.  How about handling pressure?  I’m sure working on the big cases can add quite a bit of stress to your life, or leave you feeling like you’re in a pressure cooker.

  • I can handle pressure fairly well. Not slipping into hysterics is sort of a prerequisite for being an FBI agent. I’d like to say that training scenarios alone are proof I can handle pressure, but The Collins Case is probably a clearer example. I can’t disclose much, but suffice it to say that case has ample examples of how I react to things going very, very wrong.

Have you ever encountered anyone in your work you wish could have been stopped a long time ago?

  • Although I could simply just say criminals in general, there is one particular case that haunts me, The Dawson Case. Gabriel Dawson was a beautiful little boy with his whole life ahead of him when a serial killer kidnapped and murdered him. I would do almost anything if I could catch the perp in that case. Someday, I want to look that little boy’s mother in the eyes and say we caught the guy. Oh, I suppose the murder could have been carried out by a woman, but I truly doubt it.

Do you have anyone who can help when you encounter difficulties?

  • Patrick Duncan is hands-down my biggest ally, confidant, and friend. FBI agents don’t typically get partners unless a particular situation temporarily warrants it, but I’ve worked with him numerous times as we tend to draw the same type of cases. I’d consider him my partner as well as my unofficial mentor. He’s got stellar instincts, a disarming manner, and the sense not to mince words. Sometimes he’s too quiet, but nobody’s perfect.

 

Ann, I’d like to extend a huge thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to come visit with us.  Julie, thank you so much for returning, and bringing her with you.

If you would like to read more of Ann’s story, the image above will take you out to Amazon, where you can pick up your copy.  Or, you can get the three book set here

For those who have want to know more about Julie, you can find her through her blog, on Amazon, email (devyaschildren@gmail [dot] com), two Twitter accounts: @authorgilbert or @jilliananddeli, multiple Facebook accounts:  Julie C. GilbertAshlynn’s DreamsHeartfelt Cases Series, and Pinterest “for book covers and other stuff”.   You can also read her interview here if you missed it a few days ago.

You can also find her books through the links below:

Devya’s Children Links:

Ashlynn’s Dreams
Nadia’s Tears
Malia’s Miracles

 

Heartfelt Cases Links:
Heartfelt Cases Books 1-3

Heartfelt Cases Book 1: The Collins Case – permafree
Heartfelt Cases Book 2: The Kiverson Case
Heartfelt Cases Book 3: The Davidson Case – Somebody wants her sister dead … FBI Special Agent Ann Duncan knows how to face down danger, but once again, she’s not the target. Her baby sister, Joy Davidson, has stumbled upon a conspiracy and made some powerful enemies. Luck and God’s grace help Ann save her sister the first time, but she knows the bad guys will try again. With Patrick on a university tour and perhaps the most important case of her career weighing upon her mind, Ann must find the strength, wisdom, and heart to find out who wants her sister dead, what Joy discovered, and how to stop the conspirators. Ann instinctively knows that if she fails the Davidson case will only be the first of many tragedies.Book 3: The Davidson Case

 

If you would like me to hose a character interview for you, please stop by my offered services page, and send me a submission.  I’d be honored to get to know your characters (and writing) a little while helping you spread word about your work.

Comments and questions welcome.

