Book Review: Social Media Marketing

Do you want to become a master of social media marketing and conquer every popular social media website such as, Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, YouTube and Instagram? This book will serve as your guide to conquering the realm of social media online. If you have a business and you are not involved in Internet marketing, then you are leaving money on the table! Gone are the days of basic radio and television advertising. Now is the time of the Internet and creating high quality online advertisements and content that have the potential to go viral is what is going to make you the most money.

I picked this book up, honestly because it was free, and I know I’m still an absolute beginner when it comes to marketing online.  I’m, frankly, a “soft sell”, even when I’m face-to-face.  So, anything that can help break down the barrier between what I should be doing, and what I’m not doing I figure is a good thing.

This is a very, very basic beginners guide to what the different platforms are and how to set up accounts on each one.  It does an adequate job of explaining how to engage on each platform.  However, it does nothing to address how to come up with content, or how to actually attract and engage customers.

Though this is a good starting point, this is not a book for anyone who has any experience around the internet – most of the common platforms you come in contact with you’ll already be beyond the scope of this book.  For the rest, there are other free blogs, articles, and information sources on the internet.

This one draws a very poor one and a half out of five stars for me.  I read it, and for me, the best benefit was that it was short.  There was no new information for me to glean from the pages .  If you are just starting, and thinking about some of the platforms, it might be worth investigating, so long as it remains free.

Comments and questions welcome.

