Author Interview: Marcia Martins

 

Welcome back once again to the Author Interview series.  Today, we’ll be getting a chance to talk with Marcia Weber Martins, a Brazilian author I met through the Facebook group Books Go Social.  Marcia, let’s start simple.  Tell us a little about your family and history, and how you discovered you wanted to write.

  • I’m from Brazil
  • I’m married and have 3 boys. I was born in Petropolis, Brazil. I graduated inphysiotherapybyCatholicUniversityofPetropolis. In 1983 participated in theAnthology Our Poets II with the poem”If I could” and in 1986 in the anthology Brazilian Poets with the poem “On any given day.” I live in Germany since 2005. I teach Portuguese and English for beginners at Volkshochshule.
  • I started writing short stories and poetry when I was a teenager because I want to be a writer.  I was 16 or 17. I started to write poems for school competition.
  • I don’t remember exactly what had inspired me to write my first book because I have been working this idea for long time in my head but only 2005 I had time to write it.

Do you consider writing as your career?

  • Yes, I do.

Do you have a defining moment when you first consider yourself to be a writer?

  • I considered myself a writer when I had my first printed book on my hands.

Fair enough.  There is nothing quite like having the physical proof in your hands for you to touch and leaf through that can bring home the achievement of finishing a big project.  Are you working on anything new?

  • I’m working on my second book. It’s a crime with a touch of romance. And I’m translating Perfect Match to German and to Portuguese.

Are you to a point where you can share a little about your next book with us yet?

  • It is about a writer that had to change her life after being stalked.

Does the fact you are multilingual help define a particular writing style or voice?

  • No, I don’t have.

Have you encountered any challenges in your writing yet that you’ve over come with learning new things?

  • I struggled with the middle, I had the beginning planed and how it would end but not the middle.
  • Editing and reviewing.
  • I have learnt few write techniques.

If you could start over on your project, knowing what you do now, would you do anything different?

  • I had been thinking about it for a while and had asked myself if I should have brought back the bad guy.

For your book, do you have a favorite method in selecting your titles?

  • The story is about two people that fit together, that are perfect to each other. So I thought “perfect match” would be a good choice.

What about your covers?  Did you design them yourself, or did you work with someone else?

  • I designed myself.

When you are writing, do you leave messages in your work for readers to find?

  • Family bond, friendship and love are important to help to overcome fears and bring you back to life.

I read through your blog, and I see you write fiction.  How much of the story is really fiction, and how much of it draws from real experiences?

  • It’s all fiction.
  • Only Mary’s family was based on a family I know and has the same bond I mention in my story.

Before you started writing, did any books influence your life?

  • The little Prince – Antoine Saint-Exupery

Do you consider her to be a mentor figure for your writing?

  • [No.  I see] Patricia Cornwell and Agatha Christie [as the mentor figures.]

Are either of these your one of your favorites?

  • Agatha Christie, she had created Hercule Poirot and he was able to solve every case just using his brains.

Even though you are writing, are you reading as well?

  • I’m reading three at the moment.A Dark Domain Val Mcdermid1808 Laurentino Gomes

    The Threshold Anita Kovacavic

That’s quite an impressive list.  I take my hat off to you with pleasure.  Personally, I have trouble if I read more than one at a time, because I lose track of what’s happening in which book.  Are any of these new authors who have caught your attention?

  • [Anita Kovacavic.]  Actually there are many new authors that had caught my attention.

Have you had any support outside of your immediate family?

  • Until now I have been receiving only friend support.

And, the dreaded question:  Now that you are published, do you have any words of wisdom for other aspiring authors?

  • Never give up, keep trying, and keep writing.

Thank you, Marcia, for stopping by today.  In closing, do you have any final words for our readers, of those who have read your work?

  • First of all, I would like to thank everyone that read my book and took the time to write amazing reviews. My book is about love, family bond and friendship, important values that should never be forgotten or neglected.

Such a true statement.

It has been a pleasure getting to know you better, Marcia.  And, I hope you enjoyed the experience as much as I did.

For those who have stopped by, if you would like to get to know Marcia a little better, you can find her on her blog here, or on Facebook here.  You can also connect with her on Twitter here.

 

 

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish for me to host an author interview for you, please stop by my offered services page, and send me a submission.  Don’t forget to come back in a few days, when Marcia returns with Mary Walker from her book Perfect Match.  If you would like to get a head start on discovering who Mary is, you can go here, and pick up a copy today.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Author Interview: Marcia Martins

Comments and questions welcome.

