Character Interview: Grey Andrews

I only knew two things when I married Grey Andrews: one, I was in love and two, I wanted to rebel against my parents. For the first time in my life, REALLY rebel. I, however, wasn’t prepared for the onslaught of negativity and abuse I encountered.

Grey would make sure I knew where I stood, with him, and with everyone else. He of course, was allowed to go and do whatever,wherever he pleased. Even during the rare times I would stand up to him, he would be sure that I knew I was nothing.

“You? What man in his right mind would want you? You are the biggest bitch I’ve ever known. Not to mention, you are damaged .” Grey said as he wheeled around with that all too familiar sneer. The last thing I heard was, “I only married you out of pity.”

Did he really mean that? I loved him so much and thought if I loved him enough, he could change. I felt like I had been punched in the gut! Would he realize how lucky he was to have a beautiful wife and son. Only time would tell.

Grey made sure I was knocked down several pegs at all times, but. even worse than that was the way he treated Tyler. My heart bled every time that sweet little boy was pushed off to the side and denied the attention he so deeply needed and deserved.

Do you ever “Get over” abuse, betrayal and adultery? My answer, no. You “get through it”, but you don’t ever “get over” it. You take it one baby step at a time and it is the support of great family, good friends and a loving Heavenly Father that makes continuing on even remotely possible.

 

Welcome back for another in our character interview series.  Hunter Marshall has come back today, and brought with her Grey Andrews from her book Wake Up!  Based on a True Story of Abuse and Betrayal.

Gray, from what Hunter has said, you have done some horrific things.  In your own mind, do you consider yourself to be good, bad, or a mixture of both?

  • I definitely believe I am good; Quinn Daniels thought the same thing too, after Grey showed
    her he had “changed”

Can you describe your personality for us?

  • I am a charming, fun, good-looking, flirt and all women find me attractive
    • This too is what the other main character, Quinn thought after she got over the initial shock of that which was Grey, but she would learn differently soon after they marry.

Since women find you attractive, does that mean you get along well with others?

  • Of course! Everyone loves me!

Being such an attraction, would you change anything about yourself to improve on this?

  • Nothing! All women adore me and that’s what I like

What do you do for enjoyment to occupy your time?

  • I haven’t figured out what I want to do with the rest of my life so, other than paint for my best friend’s dad, I have jump from job to job, until I find the right one, of course.

Of course, of course.  Working at what you love always makes going in every morning so much easier.

One last question for you.  What is your proudest moment?

  • Keeping my wife where she belongs. As my doormat. All women need to know their place, that’s why.

That’s… a bit on the harsh side for me.  Though I do understand that every relationship has its own structure.  (And, with that mentality, I can understand the Quinn’s desire to leave the situation.)

Hunter, thank you for coming back today, and I applaud you for your courage in bringing Grey in with you.  I’m sure he’s not an easy person to be around for you.

 

For those who are interested in connecting with Hunter,  you can find her on Amazon here, her blog here, or Facebook here.  If you would like to get a copy of Wake Up! Based on a true story of abuse and betrayal, this link will take you to Amazon where you can pick up a copy.

 

If you are enjoying the character interviews, and would like me to host an interview for you, please hop over to my Offered Services, and send me a submission.

So you can mark your calendars, this coming Friday we have Kasey Riley coming in to visit.  Until then, happy writing and feel free to explore the rest of the site.

Comments and questions welcome.

