Character Interview: Kate Davidson

 

When Kate Davidson gets an offer to teach yoga classes to wedding guests at the Elysian Springs resort, she jumps at the opportunity, even though it means being forced to endure the wedding ceremony of the center’s two caretakers.

Avoiding the M-word turns out to be the least of Kate’s problems when a wedding guest is found floating face-down in the resort’s hot tub, shortly after a loud, public (and somewhat embarrassing) fight with Kate. The police pick Kate as their number-one suspect, so she’s forced to team up with boyfriend Michael, best friend Rene, and German shepherd sidekick Bella to find the real killer. But they’ll have to solve the murder before the police arrest Kate, or her next gig may last a lifetime–behind bars.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome back for another scintillating character interview.  Today, we have Tracy Weber with us to introduce us to one of her characters from A Killer Retreat.  Tracy, who have you brought in today for their interview?

  • Kate Davidson
    • Thanks for taking time to talk to me [before I leave] on the ferry to Orcas Island, the setting of my second adventure, A Killer Retreat.

Quite welcome Kate.  Mind getting us started with a little about you, and where you are from?

  • My name is Kate Davidson, and I was born and raised in the Ballard neighborhood of Seattle. I still live in my childhood home in Ballard, and I love it.

Since you are still in your home town, I’m guessing you’ve found something that you love doing that lets you stay there.  Mind sharing what that is?

  • I’m a yoga teacher, and I love it. Well most of it, anyway. I love helping people find greater balance and peace, even if I don’t always feel it myself. Teaching yoga is awesome. Running a yoga studio? Well that could be easier. Owning my studio, Serenity Yoga, is the most rewarding way to go broke on the planet. Managing any business is a pain in the Sitz bones. Hopefully it will all be worth it in the end.

Just to get away from it all, do you ever wish you could be something else?  If so, what would that be?

  • Now that one’s easy. I totally become a 100-pound German shepherd like my dog, Bella. She’s waiting for Michael and me in the lower car deck. She’s going to have such a great time on Orcas! Bella is more intelligent than most people I know. She’s loyal, courageous, and all she needs to be happy are a bed, a chew toy, and a warm person to cuddle up with. We humans are much harder to please.

Sounds like you’ve got an excellent role model in your furry friend.  Do you ever consult with her about if your inclinations are good or bad?  Or do you wrestle with those definitions by yourself with no answers?

  • Wow. That’s a tough question for me. In my heart, I’m a good person, and I truly want to make the world a better place. That’s why I teach yoga, after all. But sometimes my mouth moves faster than my brain can stop it, and my actions don’t always match my intentions. It’s terribly embarrassing. I mean really, what kind of yoga teacher has an anger management problem?My boyfriend Michael says that my mouth is going to get me into real trouble, someday. Hopefully that woman I threatened to kill on the beach doesn’t get murdered anytime soon. I’d be the cops’ number one suspect.

Uh, oh.  That could definitely prove to be an embarrassing situation.  And, it would probably make running your business a bit harder too.  Since Michael has taken on the role of helping you keep your temper under control, is he more than just a friend, or have you thought ahead even further to … say marriage?

  • Shh! My boyfriend Michael might hear you! I adore Michael. Next to Bella he’s the best thing to happen to me in a very long time. But he’s the first man I’ve dated for more than a few weeks, and he’s starting to give me “the look.” You know… The look men get right before they pop the question? I can’t imagine life without Michael. Losing him would kill me. But marriage? As in, “as long as we both shall live?” How does anyone know what they want for the rest of their life?I’m beginning to think this trip to Elysian Springs was a terrible idea. I’m teaching yoga as part of an on-site wedding celebration. Attending a wedding with Michael can mean nothing but trouble. You don’t think he’ll pop the question this weekend, do you? Oh my gosh, do you?

You never know, Kate.  He might.  And, until you try it, how do you know if you’ll like it?  I’m sure Tracy won’t put you in too much hot water all at once.  Will you Tracy?

 

 

 

Tracy Weber is the author of the award-winning Downward Dog Mysteries series featuring yoga teacher Kate Davidson and her feisty German shepherd, Bella. Tracy loves sharing her passion for yoga and animals in any form possible. Her first book, Murder Strikes a Pose won the Maxwell Award for Fiction and is a 2015 Agatha award nominee for Best First Novel. The second book in her series, A Killer Retreat, was released January, 2015 by Midnight Ink.

Tracy and her husband live in Seattle with their challenging yet amazing German shepherd Tasha. When she’s not writing, Tracy spends her time teaching yoga, walking Tasha, and sipping Blackthorn cider at her favorite ale house.

Visit her at TracyWeberAuthor.com, friend her on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/tracywe, or e-mail her at Tracy@WholeLifeYoga.com.

 

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish for me to host one for you, please stop by my offered service page and send me a submission.

2 thoughts on “Character Interview: Kate Davidson

Comments and questions welcome.

