Character Interview: David Lightholler

Seattle Police Homicide Detective David Lightholler finds himself on a case unlike any he’s faced before. In the midst of working the darkest double homicide of his career, he unearths violent secrets of his family’s past that promise to haunt him for many years unless he can bring redemption and meaning out of the evil of the past–and present.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Karl, welcome back.  I see you’ve brought David with you today.  David, nice to meet you.

Why don’t you get us started with a little bit about yourself, David, and we’ll go from there?

  • [I was born in] Friday Harbor, Washington State [as] David Joseph Lightholler
  • It doesn’t get any better.  Friday Harbor is over on San Juan Island–just northwest of Seattle.  It was a great place to grow up.  I loved to explore, and I used to love riding the ferry back and forth between the San Juan Islands and Anacortes.  Unlike a lot of people I know, I had a great childhood.  I guess I’ll always be an island kid.
  • I’m one of the good guys—unless I haven’t had my morning coffee.
  • I tend to be energetic and very goal oriented.  I like solving puzzles of a sort, and I guess that’s why I’m a detective for Seattle PD.

Do you enjoy your job?

  • Have been for a few years now.  Yes, it’s a good gig, as they say.  There are days when it’s too much, I guess, but usually I’m a pretty good fit for my occupation.  There was one case in particular that almost sent me over the edge, but…  Yes, it’s a good job.

Do you have a specific rank, or are you just one of the guys?

  • I’m a Seattle Police Homicide Detective.

By any chance did you get a department nickname, like the TV shows depict?

  • [Yes.]

Do you still have it?

  • Not anymore.

As a detective, I’m sure you are under a constant barrage of stress.  Do you handle it well?

  • Yeah, a crooked sheriff’s deputy tried to shoot me in a deserted park on San Juan Island not that long ago, but I shot him first.

Sounds like you may have trouble getting along with others.  Do you agree?

  • They said I didn’t play and share well with others in second grade, or so.  Some things never change…but I am trying to do better.

Change isn’t easy.  Especially self-change.  So, with the occasional friction in the department, is there anyone you worry about out on the streets?

  • I’m a Homicide Detective for the Seattle Police Department.  If you kill someone in my city, we’ll find you.

Would you consider your fellow detectives to be your allies or enemies?

  • Well…I get along pretty well with other cops.  Usually.

::Chuckles:: We all have days like that.  What happens if one of them insults you?

  • That’s pretty ordinary in my line of work.  I smile and take it.  Eventually, I’ll make a smart ass crack, but that’s usually the extent of it.  One time I went the extra mile and secretly hid women’s lingerie throughout this guy’s personal car.  Unfortunately, his wife didn’t really see the humor in it, and it caused some…personal complications for him.

Ouch!  If you do that to your friends, I don’t want to think what you do to your enemies after an insult.  What about an enemy complement?

  • I must be doing something wrong.

Couple of fun questions for you now.  What would you consider to be your deepest wish come true in the next three to six months?

  • I won the lottery, I might retire the force and setup a private investigation firm somewhere in the San Juan Islands or maybe Anacortes.  Sometimes I’m not sure I want to raise a family in Seattle anymore…but that feeling usually passes.

If you could be anything in the world, living or non, what would you choose?

  • I would be a rock, because that way people could depend on me, and I wouldn’t let them down.  What you see…that’s what you get.

I like that.  It’s always nice to know your local police force are solid and dependable.

If you could change anything about yourself as you are now, what would you change?

  • Someone in my life says I need to be more sensitive, but sensitive is  hard when you work in law enforcement.

Being in law enforcement, I’m sure finding time to spend with your family is challenging.  Especially those who don’t live with you, such as parents.  Are they still alive, and do you get to visit them?

  • They’re the best.  They’re getting older too fast, but they still live in Friday Harbor.  My wife Michelle and I visit them pretty regularly.

Do you have any siblings who can help your parents if needed?

  • I have an older sister named Stacey.  She’s the best.  Unfortunately, she recently moved out of the Seattle area and left us for a Portland suburb.  She’s too far away now.  I miss her.

You’ve mentioned your wife.  Can you share anything about her?

  • My lovely wife Michelle.  Coming up on another anniversary in fact.  Married to my best friend.  I love Michelle, and I can’t wait for my son to arrive!  She’s due to have the baby in the next month, you know.

Do you have a deep, dark secrete you can share, or do you need to keep those under your hat?

  • I always thought it would be fun as a kid to leap off a ferry and dive deep into the Puget Sound. Fortunately, I never acted on this particular daydream.

I can understand why.  I’d think that would be just a little too chilly to be reasonable.

Do you have any fears you have to face on a daily basis?

  • I think one of an officer’s worst fears is arriving at an accident or a crime scene only to discover it’s a family member or an old friend.  I’m hoping this doesn’t happen to me again.

Do you have any good memories you are proud of to help counter those thoughts?

  • I arrested the man who killed a good friend of mine.  It wasn’t easy, but we got him.  It never felt better to handcuff a prisoner, but I probably shouldn’t talk too much about this stuff, you know.

::Grins::  How about I let you off the hook entirely, and let you get back to work?  Thank you so much David for coming with Karl today.  It was fun having you here.  Karl, thank you so much for returning.  It was nice seeing you again, even if we didn’t give you a chance to talk much.

 

 

 

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish to connect with Karl, you can find him on his website here, his blog here, Amazon here, and Twitter here.

If you want to connect with David, just click hereand you will be taken to Amazon where you can pick up a copy of The Blood Cries Out for yourself.

If you wish me to host an interview for you, please feel free to stop by my offered services page and send me a submission.  I will be glad to discuss specific details with you.

Next week, we have Tom Fallwell coming in, so be sure to come back for his interview.

In the mean time…

Happy reading everyone!

 

Comments and questions welcome.

