Character Interview: Anne McPhail

Anne McPhail, retired pediatrician, shattered by her experience in Bermuda, rents a tiny house in Setenil, Spain, hoping to reconcile what she learned about herself and Thomas after the gunfire in that dark room on the island. But she sees a child on the terrace of the local cafe who doesn’t seem to belong to her minders and then Ari, the Mossad agent who saved Anne’s life, seeks her out with a plan to rescue the child from kidnappers. Should she trust him? Three days later, she is on the run with Ari and the little girl, with killers Esti and Sergio on their trail. She glimpses a man she thinks is Thomas. Is he, too in Spain? And why? How far will Anne go to save Naomi?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome back to all the wonderful readers who have stopped by today for Virginia Winter’s return visit.  Virginia, who do you have with you today?

  • Anne McPhail

Welcome Anne.  I’m going to be nosy, and ask if you have a nickname.

  • My lover, Thomas Beauchamp, at times calls me Annie, but otherwise, no.

Is this a derivative of “Anne” or of your full name?

  • [My full name.  It’s] Annie Elizabeth McPhail

That’s a gorgeous name.  ‘Course, so is “Anne”.  Since I’ve had a chance to speak with Virginia a little previously, I know you’ve traveled quite a bit.  Do you make friends along the way, or remain a stranger wherever you are?

  • I have many friends in all the places I’ve visited on my journeys.

You get along well then with strangers?

  • Yes, I do.

Have you ever run into anyone you feel is an enemy, or someone who must be stopped?

  • The arms cartel that was trying to assassinate the American Secretary of State in Bermuda and sent killers after me in Spain.

That must make for a nervous life.  Do you have anyone who stays nearby in case you need some extra support?

  • Thomas Beauchamp, my lover, a businessman from Bermuda, and Adam Davidson, a detective in Vermont are my allies from past travels. In Italy, I met an old Jewish woman, a survivor of Assisi, who became a staunch ally as well.

Sounds lovely.  A nice net to catch you if things get too bad.

Have you ever daydreamed, or wished for something to happen that involves any of your friends or supporters?

  • I would like to have a quiet vacation with Thomas that doesn’t include corpses or killers.

::Chuckles:: I can see where that would get a little old after a while.  You’ve said that Thomas is your lover.  Have you ever wished for it to be more serious?

  • [It’s still an]  on-again, off-again relationship with Thomas Beauchamp, a businessman from Vermont. However, Thomas has a secret life that caused a rift between us that was only mended when we met in Italy in The Child on the Terrace.
  • I’m a widow. My husband died 4 years ago. I was so devastated I could no longer practice medicine. Now, I fill in temporarily for other pediatricians. I didn’t have a relationship or even want one until I met Thomas.

Sounds reasonable to me.  Taking it slow while you recover from the loss.  Have you encountered any fears related to the relationship, or is that superseded by something else?

  • I’m claustrophobic and have an intense fear of being locked in a small space with no way out.

That definitely counts in my book.  Do you have any happy memories, or big achievements to think on if you ever find yourself trapped in uncomfortable situations?

  • I’m very proud of saving Naomi, The Child on the Terrace, because I was on my own for much of that journey.

 

That is a wonderful achievement to have in the tool box.

Anne, it was great having you here today, thank you so much for letting Virginia bring you with.  Virginia, thank you for coming back, and I look forward to tomorrow for another return visit.

If you want to find out more, just click on this –> The Child on the Terrace to be taken to Amazon.  The book is also available as an e-book on Kobo, and from the publisher at Write Words Inc.

Virginia, it has been wonderful having you stop by to visit.

For those who would like to connect with her, you can find her at her website and blog or here, Facebook, and on Twitter

And, mark your calendars, Virginia will be back again with us, bringing Anne McPhail to visit with us first, then Thomas Beauchamp to wrap up the weekend.

 

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish for me to host one for you, please stop by my Offered Services and send me a submission.

Comments and questions welcome.

