Character Interview: Thomas Beauchamp

Anne McPhail, retired pediatrician, shattered by her experience in Bermuda, rents a tiny house in Setenil, Spain, hoping to reconcile what she learned about herself and Thomas after the gunfire in that dark room on the island. But she sees a child on the terrace of the local cafe who doesn’t seem to belong to her minders and then Ari, the Mossad agent who saved Anne’s life, seeks her out with a plan to rescue the child from kidnappers. Should she trust him? Three days later, she is on the run with Ari and the little girl, with killers Esti and Sergio on their trail. She glimpses a man she thinks is Thomas. Is he, too in Spain? And why? How far will Anne go to save Naomi?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Virginia, I promise we’ll quit racking up a travel bill for you one of these days.  Welcome back to the windswept plains of Oklahoma once again.  I’m guessing this gentleman with you is our next guest?

  • [Yes.  This is] Thomas Beauchamp, Thomas Peter David Beauchamp

Welcome Mr. Beauchamp.  Do you have a favorite name you’d prefer to be called?

  • My friends call me Tom. My childhood friends and my sister called me TeePee, my initials.

Are you still close with your family?

  • My father, a strong, silent Vermont businessman has died.
    My mother is a lovely patrician lady who adores roses and her grandchildren, my twin girls.
    My wife died when the girls were very young, and my mother helped me raise them.

 

I’d like to think we’re friends around here, so Tom it is.  From what Anne said when she was hear yesterday, there was a rift between the two of you until you met up in Italy.  Can you shed any light on this?

  • I’ve told Anne that I resigned from the CIA but I owe people favours.  I told her that casually, as though I likely wouldn’t have to involved, but we are still searching for the cartel that tried to kill her in Spain. I may have to step up again.

Sounds like you had quite a bit of stress for a while.  Does this mean you are someone who can handle pressure well?

  • Yes, I can handle pressure. I’ve succeeded in business and carried on a career as a CIA agent at the same time.

Touche! I deserved that one.  Did not mean to be impertinent.  If things deteriorate again, do you have anyone you can turn to for help?

  • One or two agents, Adam Davidson, formerly a police detective in my hometown, and of course, Anne McPhail.

Outside of the cartel that attacked Anne, do you have any other enemies you have to be wary of?

  • My enemies are the individuals and groups who would destroy democracy. There are a number of people who would like revenge for actions I have taken as a CIA agent.

::Nods::  It seems anytime someone works for justice it winds up being that way.  Do you have any dreams for the future when you can settle the unhappy past?

  • I would like to convince Anne to marry me but she is still hurting from the events in Spain, so that might not happen soon.

Perhaps one day, Tom.  One day soon, if Virginia is nice.

And, with that happy(ish) note, I’d like to thank both of you for coming by once more.  Virginia, it was great getting to meet you, and learning more about you.  Tom, it was fun having you here.  I wish you the best, and hope you can achieve your dreams.

 

If you want to find out more, just click on this –> The Child on the Terrace to be taken to Amazon.  The book is also available as an e-book on Kobo, and from the publisher at Write Words Inc.

Virginia, it has been wonderful having you stop by to visit.

For those who would like to connect with her, you can find her at her website and blog or here, Facebook, and on Twitter

And, mark your calendars, Virginia will be back again with us, bringing Anne McPhail to visit with us first, then Thomas Beauchamp to wrap up the weekend.

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish for me to host one for you, please stop by my Offered Services and send me a submission.

 

 

 

 

Comments and questions welcome.

