Book Review: The Magna Carta Story

 

 

Did you know that King John didn’t sign the Magna Carta? He sealed it. Did you know that the rebel barons offered the English throne to Prince Louis of France? If John hadn’t died, the British Isles might be part of France today. Did you know that Magna Carta was only in force for a few weeks? So why is the Great Charter considered to be the dawn of democracy? Find out in The Magna Carta Story, the layman’s guide. It contains all the intrigue, tantrums and civil war, what happened afterwards, and why it’s so important.

 

 

 

 

 

As I’ve stated in every book review, I prefer science fiction or fantasy, but I’d be willing to read just about any genre.  Ann Thomas took me up on that offer, and sent in a request for me to take a look at her work on the Magna Carta.  I thought about it, and since I enjoy British history, I figured “why not?”

I was rather surprised, therefore when I started reading this, and found the work set up like a fiction story with a beginning, middle, and end.  This is a short read, and unlike most non-fiction history it was an enjoyable one.

There’s a touch of world building as Ann reveals the political and social climate during the time of King John and the other relevant royalty along with the lower classes who were affected by what was going on, and had the clout to make a difference.  With a dry British wit, she builds up the story of the document itself until the culmination when it was signed.  Then the intensity tapers back off as she presents how the document has influenced the political and legal systems of other free countries.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read, and I heartily give it a four out of five stars.  (The docked star is because I probably won’t go back to re-read unless I’m doing something highly unusual and need it for research purposes.)  For those who like history about the legal system, or British history in general, I would definitely recommend.

 

If you’d like to pick up your copy, head on over to Amazon here.  

If you enjoyed the review, and wish me to review your work, please stop by my Offered Services page and send in a submission.  Science fiction and fantasy preferred, though almost all genres will be considered.  (Erotica and steamy romance will be turned down, however.)

Comments and questions welcome.

