Character Interview: Katie

 

When she was nine-years-old, Katie knew she wanted Chris to give her her first kiss. It wasn’t because she was in love with him (no way, he was her best friend! Besides, she was in love with his fourteen-year-old big brother), it was because she could make him do anything she wanted.

Besides, it didn’t really mean anything. It was only a kiss after all.

But then things started to change. They grew up. They parted ways and went to different high schools. And other girls and boys—well, just one particular boy—came into the picture, throwing their lives upside down.

Told from the alternating points of view of Katie and Chris, this love story between two best friends will tug at your heartstrings and leave you thinking how the simplest things can mean so much.

 

 

 

 

Ines, it is wonderful to welcome you back today.  Is this lady beside you the Katie we’ll be talking to today?

  • [Yes]

Welcome Katie.  Do you mind starting us off with a little bit about where you grew up and about yourself?

  • I grew up in Manila, the Philippines. It’s a tropical country which only means one thing: if it’s not hot, it’s wet. Sounds horrible, but it’s not that bad. I wish we had other seasons, but we don’t. It’s just hot days when the sun is shining brightly and your skin is sticky with sweat because of the humidity and wet days when the rains don’t stop. I’m lucky I live in a village and my house is just walking distance from my best friend Chris’s. We also have a village park we used to visit all the time as kids. Eventually, Chris began playing soccer and he stopped going on the swings with me, but when his brother isn’t bugging him to kick the ball around, he still likes to show off on the monkey bars. But I think the best part about living in Manila is how easy it is to get to a beach! All I have to do is jump on a plane (it’s a quick one-hour flight) or take a car.

Did you grow up with siblings to pester, or be pestered by?

  • I do! I have a younger sister named Summer. She was born when I was in high school, so I pretty much took care of her while she was a baby. Sure I was busy with being a teenager (show me a teenager who isn’t), but I adore my sister and because, strangely, I welcome responsibility, I didn’t mind helping my parents with her at all. Besides, she’s a cutie. Demanding, but still a cutie.

Since you welcome responsibility, would you say you are someone who can handle stress well?

  • Oh definitely. When I was nine, I was determined to find a future wife for my best friend Chris. I knew I was going to marry his big brother Ethan so I needed to make sure Chris wouldn’t be lonely. When I found the perfect girl in Megan, she insisted she had already found someone else. Imagine the pressure I experienced! I had to make sure she didn’t want that other guy anymore! Some say it was a pretty manipulative move, especially for a nine-year-old, but I tell them I know what I want and I go after it. But I have to admit, that particular situation didn’t really go down very well. It’s amazing Megan and I are still friends today.

::Chuckles:: You had to learn somewhere.  Do you still work as a matchmaker now that you’re in the workforce?

  • I’m a wedding planner and I love it. I fell in love with weddings when I attended my cousin’s where I was the junior bridesmaid. I also got my first kiss at that wedding (well, asked for it anyway), but what took my breath away wasn’t the decorations, the vows, or even the gowns (though those were a close second), but the love between my cousin and her fiancé. It just felt so real, so strong—as if I could reach out and touch it and maybe even take it home with me. Ever since, weddings have fascinated me and I feel really lucky that I can call this work.

Do you have any regrets that you are working on overcoming, or secrets you don’t want anyone to discover?

  • I fell in love with my best friend and I let him get away.

I’m sorry to hear that.  Maybe one day you’ll be able to win him back.

 

Katie, Ines, thank you both for coming out today to visit with us.  It has been fun getting to know you both.

 

If you would like to read more of Katie’s story, you can find it Here on Amazon.

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish to connect with Ines, you can find her on her blog Here, on Facebook Here, or on Twitter Here.  She’s also on Instagram as @inesbyao (I’d link, but don’t have an account… Ines if you wish, feel free to leave a link in the comments.)

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish me to host one for you, please stop by my Offered Services page, and send me a submission.  I’ll get back in touch with you soonest to discuss details.

Comments and questions welcome.

