Book Review: Unlimited Energy Now

 Discover the secrets of how you can experience unlimited energy now:
Learn how to operate your body at its very best.
Master your own energy system.
Resolve the emotions that drain you.
Connect to your highest intelligence.
Inspire yourself to connect more deeply to your infinite, eternal and unwavering support from your soul.
Catherine Carrigan, Amazon No. 1 best-selling author of What Is Healing? Awaken Your Intutive Power for Health and Happiness, reveals how you can experience unlimited energy right now by guiding you through the five levels of your body:
Book One: The Ultimate Athlete Hidden Inside of You, The Physical Body
Book Two: You Could Have Danced All Night, Your Energy Body
Book Three: The Big High That Never Ends, Your Emotional Body
Book Four: Unleash Your Inner Genius, Your Mental Body
Book Five: Inspiring, Your Spiritual Body

 

 

 

 

This would not be a book I’d normally pick up, as I tend to stay away from most self-help books.  However, Catherine asked me to take a look at “one” of her books, and this is the one I went back to over and over again while I was deciding if I’d accept the request.  (And, yes, I have other books waiting in line behind it, for those who have debated about contacting me for reviews.)

When I started, I really didn’t have much of an idea about what the book was.  I knew it was non-fiction and self-help, that was about it.  As I read through, I ran into a few points of humor to me, as the book stuck to my biology degree, my current psychology program, and my spirituality.  An interesting combination to say the least.

As I read through, I kept picking apart the actual research science, the pseudo science, and the psychological aspects of the book.  There IS some good advice throughout, though I had trouble connecting with it.  The psychological orientation used in this book really struck me hard in a tender spot due to a bad class experience, and so I had a little difficulty evaluating this honestly without letting that bias creep into the equation.  I also ran into a few editing/formatting errors – mostly repeated phrases or missing participles.  The quality of the writing is generally very good, so when I can across these, I found it very jarring.  Most of the repeated phrases were at the start of a section, where they really stood out.  I’m not sure if they are deliberate, or just a small editing glitch that was missed.

The book is written with a heavy emphasis on positive therapy – which has its place in helping others break out of the ruts of negativity that they may  be in.  It’s not something that I would use for myself, but I know there will be (and probably have been) times when I’ll use this in the future.  As such, this aspect of the advice carries enough weight to be well worth the read.

The biological aspects are where the pseudo science comes in, along with some of the mysticism that always sets my teeth on edge.  Catherine has done a nice job trying to write the spiritual aspects of this for all faiths – Christian, Jew, Muslim, and pagan.  However, her personal influences do punch through from time to time in the invocations, and some of the descriptions.  As for how the spirituality and the biology tie together?  She explains her reasoning at a very superficial level that doesn’t convince me.

I’m not just pagan, but a Healer as well, so some of what she describes and recommends seem flat out dangerous when I compare them to the way I was taught.  Perhaps, if this is your first exposure to energy or will-working, it is safe enough.  But, for these techniques, I will not be applying them as directed in the exercises.  The danger isn’t because of the technique itself, rather there are a few steps missing in the preparation.

The last piece I want to mention is part of what set my teeth on edge in class for this theoretical orientation.  It’s the entire concept of “think positive thoughts, and all will be healed.”  There are some things, both psychological and physiological that CAN’T be healed with just simple positivity.  A few of the conditions, such as the Diabetes, are addressed specifically as curable when the energy states are properly centered and balanced.  The answer to that is a resounding “no”.  Nor can advanced stages of other illnesses or disorders be cured by simply “thinking happy thoughts”.  The effects can be LESSENED, but not eliminated.  There was only one place where talking to a medical doctor was recommended, and even that was a reference in passing.

For the stated concern of addressing adrenal fatigue, which is the main focus of the book, everything mentioned – from the actual science (anatomy), pseudo science (correlative and anecdotal proof) and psychological orientation (positive therapy) – appears to be a safe, well constructed treatment plan.  The spiritual aspect of the work may wind up wandering off a little too far into mysticism for some, but even here, when you read  between the lines, it’s only asking the reader to put their faith and judgement into a higher power.  Most of the time, that power isn’t named, and even when it is, altering the name in the invocation is easy enough.

This is not a book I’d recommend to sit down and read straight through, whether you are seeking to boost you energy to combat adrenal fatigue, or to increase your energy on a daily basis just to feel better.  The lists in some of the chapters can bog you down with too much detail to process while you are moving into the next section.  At most, I’d only recommend reading one or two chapters a day, and putting the parts that resonate with you into practice.  Then, the next day read through the next chapter.  Skimming through once is OK, but there will be little or no benefit, and it may turn the reader off from trying any of the pieces that really feel “right” later.  The slower read should give you the opportunity to decide if any, some, or none of the recommendations should be tried for the state you are in.

Overall, I have to give this one a 3.5 out of five star rating.  The docked ranks are from the heavy overreach into health and mental issues that should have recommendations for professional help and are listed as self-treatable conditions and for the practices that need a little extra attention paid to the preparatory steps.  Living in a high energy state is something we all should strive for, but there is also the need to be properly grounded and centered while in that state or else you wind up risking more damage than living in a low energy or a mid-energy unbalanced state.  (Yes, that comes from personal experience!  Big, BIG ouch!)

If you are looking for a self-help book to boost your vitality and energy levels, this is a cautious recommendation.  As I said in the beginning, there’s a lot of good information, and quite a few good exercises that should be effective for many different people.  Just be aware that there are a few places that you’ll want to do a little more research before you implement, so you don’t wind up being the energetic equivalent of a 30 watt light bulb plugged into a 100 watt socket.

 

If you enjoyed the review, and wish to buy a copy of Unlimited Energy Now, just click on the title, and it will take you directly to the book’s Amazon page.

If you enjoyed the review, and wish for me to review one of your works, please stop by my Offered Services page, and fill out the simple submission form.  I’ll get back to you soonest to discuss details.

Comments and questions welcome.

