Character Interview: Leah DeGarmo

 

She was born with the power to cure. Now she’s developed the power to kill.

Leah DeGarmo has the power to cure with just a touch. But with her gift comes a dark side: Whatever she takes in she has to pass on, or suffer it herself. Now a sadistic criminal has discovered what she can do and he’ll stop at nothing to control her. He makes a mistake, though, when he kills the man she loves, triggering a rage inside her that releases a new power she didn’t know she had: the ability to kill. Transformed into a demon of retribution, Leah resurrects her lover and embarks on a mission to destroy her enemies. The only question is, does she control her power or does it control her?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome everyone.

JG, welcome back.  Is this Leah?

  • [Yes. This is] Leah DeGarmo

Leah, before we get started, is there a nickname, or another name you’d prefer us to use?

  • Uh, Leah DeGarmo? I guess you could add Doctor to the front. I’m a veterinarian.
  • Just Leah. Kind of boring, I know.

One more question before we get started.  Do you have any unusual powers I should be aware of, or need any special accommodations because you are something other than human?

  • As far as I know, I’m human. I just have these powers… I can heal animals and people. And do some other stuff as well, you know, the whole Kali thing, but I don’t want to talk about that. It still frightens me to think that dark power is inside me.

I’ll keep that in mind, then.  I don’t want to make you uncomfortable.

One of the things that I have always enjoyed learning about people is where they are from, and what their family is (or was) like.  Will you share some of that with us today?

  • I was born in Rocky Point, NY. I still live there, although I moved away for a while to attend college and vet school. I’m in my thirties, and that’s all you’ll get out of me for my age.
  • I grew up right here in Rocky Point. A small town an hour north of New York City. Pretty much an ordinary place. I mean, we have our weird stuff that goes on—the disappearances, the things people see at night—but this is the Hudson Valley. An hour from here is a town that’s had more UFO sightings than anywhere in the state. Every town in the area has a ghost or haunted house or something. Right across the river is Sleepy Hollow. The whole region is spook central. But except for all that, I had a pretty normal childhood.
  • [My parents are] ordinary people. They’re retired now and living in Las Vegas. We see each other once a year when I go out there. Things are good, although sometimes a little weird. They kind of know what I can do, but we’ve never talked about it. I think they’d rather pretend they don’t know, and so would I.

What about siblings?

  • Nope, it’s just me.

Since you say you’ve had a “normal” life, do you ever play the “I wish I were a …” game to liven it up?

  • I don’t know. I love so many kinds of animals. Dogs, cats, lions, elephants, dolphins. All of them are so great in their own ways, and it would be wonderful to be one of them for a while. But then I remember how awful they can be treated by humans, and all I can think of is that I’d end up being beaten or put into a dog fight or slaughtered for my hide. Those are the times I wish I could go all Kali on everyone who ever mistreated an animal or hunted one for anything but food.

A worthwhile dream.  Animal abuse is one of the things that gets my dander up too.  Realistically though, do you ever wish you could change something about yourself now, not in a dream?

  • I wish I didn’t need those security guards watching me all the time. As long as they’re around, I’m always reminded the world is never going to be a hundred percent safe for me.
  • I’d go back in time and never get this power. At least I think I would. I mean, I’ve done so much good with it, but it’s also brought me so much sadness and pain… I hate questions like that.

Forgive me for hitting a nerve.  I honestly didn’t intend to.  Do you have anyone who helps you deal with things when it gets too rough?

  • My boyfriend John Carrera. He’s stuck by me through everything. I’d trust him with my life. And Leonard Marsh. He’s turned out to be a real friend.

What do you do if one of them insults you, even if it’s not on purpose?

  • I’d probably be too stunned to speak. That would hurt so much.

Do you have people that you have to stay away from then, or anyone you consider an enemy?

  • Well, if you’d asked me a few months ago, I’d have said Tal Nova and Del McCormick. And those Army guys who kidnapped me. Especially Captain Green. He didn’t listen to me when I warned him. But they’re all dead now. As far as I know, my secret is safe again. But I always have to be careful.

What happens when one of your enemies complements you?

  • Go to hell. Just because an enemy is nice to you doesn’t make them any less an enemy.

With so few people you consider friends, and such a big group who fall on the other side of the issue, do you find it hard getting along with others?

  • I’m not exactly the life of the party but people seem to like me.

Fair enough.  I’m sure that helps with the pressure you find yourself under.  Do you have any examples of how you release some of the pressure when it builds up too much?

  • That’s something else I’m getting better at. I used to run away from problems if they got too big. Now I’m learning how to stand up for myself. To solve problems. Or make them go away. Like figuring out I don’t have to kill something after I take in someone’s illness, I can just blow up a radio or a toaster instead.

There’s times when destruction is the perfect answer.  I think I’m a little jealous of you there.  Does it take a while for you to get to the explosion point?

  • I’m doing better these days, I guess having a boyfriend and almost getting killed and turned into a lab experiment tends to break one out of one’s shell, ha ha.
  • [I’m just] boring [and] shy [me].

Shy I might believe.  Boring doesn’t quite fit with what I’m seeing.  Perhaps it is because of how you define yourself between the concepts of good and bad?

  • Right to the heart of things, huh? I guess I’m basically good. I mean, sometimes good people have to do bad things, but I never mean to hurt anyone. Not unless they’re trying to hurt me. Then it’s self defense, right?

That’s the way I see it.  I know you mentioned early on that you’re a veterinarian.  Do you enjoy it?

  • I love being a veterinarian! It’s all I ever wanted to do, even when I was a little girl. Even before I knew I could Cure animals. I can’t imagine doing anything else.

That is such a blessing – doing what you love.  Do you ever find it conflicts with having a personal life or getting out to meet anyone?

  • Well, yeah. [I am dating] John Carrera. My hunky ex-policeman boyfriend. He’s out running errands right now or I’d introduce you.

Sounds like a keeper!  Have you ever thought about marriage with anyone?

  • I had a serious boyfriend in college. We might have ended up married. But he died. Brain aneurism. I wasn’t there when it happened so I couldn’t save him. Sometimes I think about John and I getting married. We’ve talked about it, but it’s too soon. Right now we’re just living together. Another thing my parents don’t know!

Sounds like you have quite a few secrets.  Do you have any you can share with us?

  • I like to eat junk food when no one is around. Twinkies, cupcakes, cookies. I keep a stash in my desk at work.

::Chuckles::  That secret is safe with me.  Are any of your secrets fueled by fears that you’ve kept hidden?

  • I used to think it was someone finding out my secret. Then that happened, and I found out there are worse things. Like seeing the person you love get killed because of you. So I guess that would be it. Seeing John or my parents dying and not being able to do anything about it. That is scarier than even thinking about my own death.

That is an honest enough fear, and I think one common to many in the medical professions.

One last question for you.  Do you have any accomplishments that help remind you there are still good things that happen in life?

  • I faced death and overcame it. I saved myself and the man I love. I murdered the people who wanted to kill us, which probably isn’t right, but it feels right to me. And I learned that I’m someone you don’t fuck with. Not anymore.

That is indeed a big accomplishment.

Dr. DeGarmo, thank you so much for coming out today with JG, and visiting with us.  I enjoyed it more than I probably should have.

JG, thank you for braving the weather to stop by again today.  It was wonderful having you over again.

 

If you would like to read Leah DeGarmo’s story, you can find it on Amazon Here.

 

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish me to host one for you, please stop by my Offered Services page and fill out the simple submission form.  I’ll get back with you soonest to discuss details.

 

 

Comments and questions welcome.

