Character Interview: Isabella George

Wizard Vs. Nazi Warlock Vampires.

It’s a very different World War II.

The Nazis have unleashed occult forces throughout Europe and the Allies are forced to recruit and employ wizards to counter their attacks.

Among them is the battle weary spy, Isabella George, a Gray Tower dropout trained in Alchemy. Longing for retirement and a life of peace, she accepts one final job–extract a deadly warlock from Nazi occupied France and prevent him from unleashing an alchemical weapon that will devour the continent.

But France is crawling with the Cruenti, vampiric warlocks who feed off other wizards. When things don’t go according to plan, one Cruenti sets his deadly eyes on her.

Betrayal is everywhere. Even some of her closest allies cannot be fully trusted. Worse still, she finds, she can’t even trust herself. She becomes a woman torn between her charismatic spy lover who offers her what she desires most, and one of her closest confidants, whose soft seductive eyes hold deadly secrets about her past, and the Gray Tower itself.

Plans within plans. Plots versus counter plots. Heists gone wrong, sword-wielding Catholic priests, and the greatest manipulation of history that has ever been seen, is just a taste of what Isabella George is in for, in her final mission.

 

Welcome back everyone.  Alesha, welcome back.  Who do you have with you today?

  • Isabella George

Isabella, is this your preferred name, or do you have a nick name you’d like me to use?

  • I go by a few codenames, actually.
  • My brother calls me Izzy, which I secretly can’t stand. Everyone else just calls me by my first name (depending on which one I give them). That’s the difficult part about being a spy, you spend so much time portraying other people that you lose a little bit of who you are, if you’re not careful.

How about I just stick with Isabella?

  • All right.

I’m not trying to be rude with this question, I just speak with a wide variety of individuals, and not all of them are human.  Which species are you, and do you have any special talents or gifts I should be aware of?

  • One hundred percent human, thank goodness! I’m a wizard, trained as an Alchemist by the Gray Tower.

Interesting, and thank you for clarifying about that.  You mentioned being a spy, so if I stray into territory you can’t answer, please feel free to let me know.

To get us started, can you tell us little about yourself, where you are from, and your family?

  • Ah, Baltimore, 1920s (don’t try and calculate my age).
  • I was born in the U.S., and please don’t make a girl give away her age. However, I am living in interesting times. Deadly times.
  • My father disappeared when I was 10; they said he was killed by warlocks. My mom was always a little distant, cold. She never liked that I left home to join the Order of Wizards (The Gray Tower).
  • My brother, Johnnie. He’s a history professor at Harvard. I’m so proud of him. He’s not a wizard, neither is mom. But my father was.

Sounds like your description of your life is a little understated.  What do you do, that makes things so interesting?

  • I’m a spy for the Special Operations Executive (SOE) based in London. I like it when I have victories, I hate it when I lose.

Fair enough.  I think we all have those moments of love/hate with our jobs.  As a spy, do you consider yourself in terms of being a good or bad person?

  • I’m one of the good guys. I may not be perfect, but I want to help defeat the greatest threat our world has known.

And what, if I may ask, is that threat?

  • The Nazis, and their allies the Black Wolves. The Black Wolves are a coven of warlocks working with the Third Reich to win the war. That’s why the Allies hired wizards like me who can thwart the enemy’s efforts.

Do you have any friends or allies who help you in bringing about the defeat of your enemies?

  • Penn, my drinking and cursing bootlegger who can always find me weapons and enchanted items when I need them. Ken Aspen, who both frustrates me and enthralls me. My fellow spies, who I think are some of the bravest men and women around. And there’s Renee, she’s like a mentor to me. Surrounding myself with people like this really gives me the drive to keep going.

Sounds like you have a strong support group.  Do you get along well with them?

  • I like to give people a chance, see who they are on the inside before engaging them. Most of the people I come across I get along with. Others, I have to grit my teeth and be patient with.
  • There’s a bit of snark to me, and I can be a little pushy, but I’m also fiercely loyal and I have strong convictions.

With what you’re describing as your job, I find no fault with having some bite in your defense.  Since you’re fighting such a horrible evil, do you ever want to curl up in a corner and hide?

  • Sister, if I can slip into a Nazi research facility and blow up their magic-laced weapons, I think I qualify as someone who can handle pressure.

Fair enough.  What about wishes, though?  Any thing you’ve ever wished for, even if it’s just for yourself?

  • Peace and balance to the world.
  • Oh, this is getting fun. I often contemplate just getting away and being free. Perhaps I could be a creature that had wings. The idea of spreading my wings and flying wherever I want to go sounds empowering.

On a more realistic note, is there anything about yourself you’d like to change?

  • It’s tough to say, but sometimes I want to be able to build a better wall around myself. It breaks my heart when I lose a friend or ally.

If one of your friends were to insult you, what would you do?

  • Get right into his face and let him know that he’d better watch his tone. And if it’s Ken, I might just kiss him.

And if an enemy were to complement you?

  • [I’d tell them to] go to hell.

Do you have anyone who worries for you when you go out on assignment, or waits up for you to return home?

  • Well…Ken Aspen…he took me to an Egyptian bar for dinner, but it devolved into a gunfight with a crimelord and his goons who were selling weapons to the Nazis. That still counts as a date, right?

In it’s own way, I’d say yes.  Especially since he works with you.  Have you thought about what you’ll do after you retire?

  • I think about it a lot, especially since my friend Jane got engaged. Sooner or later, I’m going to retire from spying and settle down with a nice guy–preferably someone who doesn’t mind that I can stop hearts from beating and create explosions.

::Chuckles:: Not so sure about the stopping hearts, but I know most guys wouldn’t mind the explosions now and again.  Either that, or I run with the wrong crowd, because they all like making things  go “boom”.

Do you have any secrets or fears you can share?

  • [To discover my secrets,] you’ll have to catch me in The Tower’s Alchemist to find that out.
  • The dark. I am afraid of the dark.

Do you have any accomplishments or achievements you can look back on to help keep your fears at bay?

  • Whenever I save a life or help someone reach safety, it makes me feel like a hero. I love that feeling.

What a wonderful counterweight to your fear.

 

Isabella, thank you for letting Alesha bring you over to visit.  It has been fun chatting with you, and I won’t take up any more of your time.

 

If you’d like to read more of Isabella’s story, feel free to head over to Amazon and pick up The Tower’s Alchemist for yourself.

 

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish for me to host a character (or author) interview for you, please stop by my Offered Services page and fill out the simple submission form.  I’ll get back to you soonest to discuss details.

2 thoughts on “Character Interview: Isabella George

Comments and questions welcome.

