Character Interview: Rynah

Book 1 in the Solaris Saga

A perfect blend of the epic space adventure made famous by Star Wars, to the fun and wit of Star Trek, and the gritty emotions of Battlestar Galactica. It’s also a perfect cure for those who are tired of sparkling vampires and “My inner goddess.”

Every myth has a beginning.

After escaping the destruction of her home planet, Lanyr, with the help of the mysterious Solaris, Rynah must put her faith in an ancient legend. Never one to believe in stories and legends, she is forced to follow the ancient tales of her people: tales that also seem to predict her current situation.

Forced to unite with four unlikely heroes from an unknown planet (the philosopher, the warrior, the lover, the inventor) in order to save the Lanyran people, Rynah and Solaris embark on an adventure that will shatter everything Rynah once believed.

 

 

 

Welcome back everyone.  Today, Janet has returned, and brought one of her characters with her.

Janet, will you introduce our guest?

  • [This is ] Rynah [from the Solaris Saga.]

Welcome Rynah.  Do you have another name or a nickname you prefer me to use?

And, forgive me for being nosy, I talk with many people.  Some are not from Earth, or do not identify as human.  How would you describe yourself, and do you have any gifts I should be aware of?

  • I have many of the same abilities as you. In fact, humans and Lanyrans are not that different. And I have no special gifts.

Thank you.  I’ll keep that in mind.  Will you share a little about yourself, or where you are from to get us started?

  • I was born on Lanyr in what would be your year of 1981.
  • [It was] peaceful. The grass was always lavenders, resembling silky threads in the sunshine. There were cliffs near my home where my grandfather and I would go hiking, where we would watch the waterfall and the birds. I miss those days.
  • [My parents were] Gentle. In love. The best people I ever knew.
  • [I have no siblings.]

Is there anything from your past you would change?

  • I would listen to my grandfather when… I never should have abandoned him the way I did.

I bet it was hard leaving, though.  What do you do now?

  • Security Officer in the Geothermic Lab.

Having worked in security, I know there’s always someone out there who doesn’t like the fact you are out doing your job.  Do you have any enemies who have developed while you were in service?

  • Klanor and Stein.

Do you have any friends or allies to help you stand up to them?

  • My only allies are Solaris, the artificial intelligence my grandfather created years ago, and the group of people she insisted on bringing aboard that ship: four people from Earth, all separated by time.

Sounds like a tough situation.  Do you find getting along with them difficult?

  • Yes and no. I am a difficult person to get to know and get along with. I believe in being honest and do not handle deceit well. Alfric is the only member of this group that Solaris has insisted we bring aboard whom I understand. He is a warrior, like me. Single-minded. He says what he means and prefers a face to face confrontation with those he loathes. In short, he a is a lot like me.

But I do not understand the others. Solon is quiet and bookish. Tom’s spontaneous nature, and willingness to act without thinking, grates my nerves, but Brie is the most annoying. Her constant shrieking and cowardice, will be the death of us.

And Solaris. Why my grandfather cursed me with a ship controlled by an artificial intelligence with an iron will of her own I’ll…

Sorry.

No, I do not get along well with others.

There must be a reason your group is being brought together.  Maybe it’s to balance out your personality, or abilities?

  • I would like to believe that I am a good person, but the only truly good person I have ever met is Brie. She would never have murdered a group of mercenaries like I did. She would have offered them mercy first.
  • I tend to keep my distance from others as I naturally do not trust people. I can be curt and tactless, and tend to speak my mind when it is best to keep silent, as Solaris has reminded me on numerous occasions, but I am loyal to my friends. Very loyal.

Maybe it’s to help you learn how to handle pressure?

  • Have you ever been on a ship in the middle of space, without power, without air, and no hope of rescue? Have you ever been attacked by the Fragmyr pirates and left stranded on a desolate planet of pure ice? Have you ever seen your entire planet destroyed and barely managed to escape with your life, while all those you care about are dead? Or have you battled untold terrors in a labyrinth just to stop a madman from killing more innocent lives?

   I have.

   I can handle myself under pressure.

I didn’t mean to doubt you.  Just trying to understand why such a disparate group has been assembled.  Maybe to help you achieve something in the near future?

  • Klanor’s death [would be nice].

Do you ever pretend to be something else, perhaps some small animal, to escape from the daily irritations you face?

  • What kind of stupid question is that? I should be out there stopping Klanor and you are asking me about what animal I would be!

I didn’t mean to hit a hot button there!  It was a rhetorical question.  Realistically, though what would you do if one of your enemies complemented you?

  • Shoot him.

Dare I ask what would happen if one of your friends or allies insulted you?

  • [I would] Wound him.

Remind me to not get on your bad side.  Not sure I’d survive.  Do you have anyone waiting for you to come home at night?

  • I was engaged. It ended… badly.

I’ll refrain from commenting on that one.  I think I’d get myself in trouble.

Do you have any secrets you’ve ever shared?

  • My secrets are my own. Even Solaris doesn’t know them.

What about fears?  Any that haunts your sleep at night?

  • Failure.

Do you have any accomplishments you can use to counter your fears?

  • [Silence]

 

Rynah, it sounds like you’ve important work to do.  I’d like to thank you for taking time out of your schedule to stop by and visit.  Janet, thank you for returning today, and bringing Rynah with you.

 

 

If you’ve enjoyed the interview, and wish to read more of Rynah’s tale, head on over to Amazon Here.  I’ve linked you to the book page, where you can find all of the Solaris Saga books.

 

 

If you’ve enjoyed the interview, and wish me to host one for you, please stop by my Offered Services page and fill out the simple submission form.  I’ll get back to you soonest to discuss details.

Comments and questions welcome.

