Character Interview: Syntyche Parks

Syntyche is a fifteen-year-old girl who lives in a world struggling to survive the aftermath of religious wars and a controlling government. Her unique ability to see guardian angels has left her an outcast, but little does she know that her gifts will soon expand with a blessing from the archangel Barachiel. She discovers that she is part of an old prophecy that must bring together angels, sins and virtues to close the gates of Hell – all seven of them. In order to do this they must defeat each demon that guards the doors.

There are many dangers in her future, but Syntyche knows she will survive to see the day when a great prophet can preach without the fears of evil getting in the way. With the help of a griffin, phoenix and dragon, what could possibly go wrong?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome back everyone for our next character interview.  Valerie, will you do us the honor of introducing your guest?

  • [This is] Syntyche Parks

Welcome Syntyche.  Do you have another name, or perhaps a nickname you’d prefer to be called?

  • My friends and family call my Turkey. Yes, like the poultry.  You see, I hate my name and have constantly complained that my name makes me feel like a description of a sinning tick that has a key.  (Sin-Tic-Key is the correct pronunciation of my name).  My Uncle Stinger joked with me that the reason my tick self has a key but obviously no lock to place said key in is because I couldn’t figure out how to turn the key.  This began him calling me his little ‘Turnkey’.  My Dad heard him wrong and thought he called me ‘Turkey’.  And thus began my life as poultry.  (Which is now the name my Uncle Stinger calls me.  ‘Poultry’.  So I guess I could list that as my nickname as well.)  I have odd people for family.

::Chuckles::  Some of the oddest family names just seem to stick and never go away.  However, since you do not like your given name, and are comfortable with “Turkey” I’ll go ahead and use that one.

I do try to make my guests as comfortable as possible, which leads me to my next uncomfortable question.  Since I talk to a lot of different people, I’ve found it safer to ask this one that guess.  What species do you consider yourself, and do you have any gifts I should be aware of?

  • It is somewhat of a secret, but I guess I could tell you. I am fully human.  However, I have a very powerful guardian angel who is deeply blessed by the archangel Barachiel.  This entitles me to the powers of the angel’s wings.  To put simply, I can control the wind.  I’m still learning how to use it, so it doesn’t feel too much as a power yet, but I have successfully blown rocks onto the roof of Dad’s castle.

I’ll bet that was a fun one to explain. Can you tell us a little more about where you are from and your family?

  • I was born in Townstown, south of the Great divide. The year was 526AW.
  • I grew up in my father’s mansion in Archtown, south of the Great Divide. It was a normal childhood, if you forget the fact that I can see guardian angels and always felt the need to say hello to them when I was little.  This made me a bit of an outcast.
  • My Dad is an odd man. It is safe to say that he has multiple identities depending on if he is North or South of the Great Divide or near the water edge.  He has spent his life helping people and that is how he ended up with me.  He helped a woman who was attacked and she ended up pregnant from the attack.  When I was born her family insisted that she get rid of me so she asked him to adopt me, which he did.  I only met my mother at birth, so naturally, I don’t remember her.  The woman that I would say is closest thing I have to a Mom is Annalee.  It’s a bit odd because she is my Dad’s ex-girlfriend.  She is a medic so she also helps people.
  • I don’t know if my real Mom has any other kids. My dad cannot have any children naturally, so it is just me.  Annalee has two sons, twins, which are close enough to me to be called brothers.  Jude (well, we may not be that close anymore) and L.J.  There is another girl that I grew up with that my heart tells me is my sister and her name is Amala.

That’s quite a bit to carry on your young shoulders.  When you’re not trying to learn control of your gift, would we find you doing something you like?

  • I’m a student. Liking it is an obligation, I think.  (That is my way of stating that I do like it but don’t want to admit it.)

::Chuckles::  I think most students would say something similar, if they were being honest.  Since you are in school, even though you enjoy it most of the time, do you ever daydream of being something else?

  • Don’t tempt me. The Devouts, Marians, Believers and RomChi all believe that dreaming of changing yourself is one of the first steps into falling into Pride.  It is something that is not encouraged.  (Having given the obligatory response, I would like to say that I would change my uncoordinated self.  I can’t even fight the bad guys without tripping over my feet.  Let’s just hope I can get the wind thing under control because I think that is my only saving quality.)
  • [Or a] Phoenix.  I would love to be a Phoenix.  I get lit on fire by one accidently all the time, so I figure I’m halfway there already.

With your gift, do you ever find it hard to get along with others?

  • Define “others”. If “others” means family and close family friends, then the answer is yes, I get along with them.  If “others” means school mates or people of the village, town or bay then the answer is no.  I would be happy to get along with them, but “others” usually find me odd and scary at times.  It doesn’t help that there is a legend about me that states if you look directly in my eyes you will go mad.  There is absolutely no truth to this at all.  People just find my eyes freaky and unnatural.  I find neon green to be a perfectly suitable eye color.  Wait, what was the question again?  I digressed, I think.

Nope, not digressing yet.  Do you have any allies that stand with you when things get tough?

  • There are the people of the prophecy that are definitely my allies. It would be nice if I knew who they all were.  We are still trying to figure that out.  But for sure there is my Dad, Stephen Parks, his ex-fiancé, Annalee and my Dad’s brothers, Stinger and Pete.  Then there is Annalee’s son, L.J.  Plus many more, but I’m tired and not in the mood to continue this question.

What about enemies?  Anyone you’d like to see stopped cold?

  • All seven demons and their little disgusting minions. I guess you could say that they are too numerous to name or count.

Is this because you would define yourself and your personality as “good”?

  • I’m good. I’ve been warned that this can change if I am not careful.  The RomChi are always saying that we are born evil and it requires great skill to be good.  I’m not sure if I completely believe all of that though.
  • I’ve been described as a tornado before. And that was before my powers revealed themselves.

Do your enemies tie into your fears?

  • [Yes. My worst fear is] losing to the demons and failing the prophecy. I almost feel like that is a copout answer.  But it is true, nonetheless.  I guess my second worst fear would be falling victim to the demons and turning to their side.  Then again, spiders would be a good answer.  I really hate spiders.  I’m not sure if it is really spiders that I hate or their sticky webs.  I walked into a huge web once and became horrifically claustrophobic.  I don’t ever want that to happen again.

How do you handle the pressure?

  • I’m not very good with pressure L. J. will confirm this.  He’s still upset that one day when I was really nervous I almost blew him off of a cliff because I didn’t control the wind coming from me.  I’m so happy that he was able to hold onto that tree instead of falling down.

That could have been a disaster all right.  Have you ever thought about the future?  Any hopes or dreams in that direction?

  • [I dream of] all the doors of hell being closed systematically without me getting injured or seeing any of the people of the prophecy being injured. That would be so lovely.

Any dreams of a family of your own?

  • NO!
  • Such questions are a bit personal, don’t you think? However, no.  I don’t think about it.  I don’t have time to think about it.  Plus, who wants to date a woman who would blow them off a cliff when she is nervous?  Not many.

Any secrets you can share?

  • If I told you then it wouldn’t be a secret.

Fair enough.

Going back to a hypothetical question.  If one of your enemies were to complement you, how would you react?

  • They are demons, they are always giving compliments. It’s how they sucker people into their games.  My response would be to simply ignore such compliments.

And on the flip side, what if one of your friends were to insult you?

  • That’s a typical show of infection, isn’t it? Especially among people who love each other.

Depends on which time you live in.  I’ve seen times when insults were a reason for the friendship to end, and times when insults were expected and accepted.

One last question, and then I’ll let you get back to your studies.  Do you have an accomplishment that you look back on when your fears start looming?

  • I’m proud of my guardian angel. She hasn’t failed me yet!  And trust me, there have been times when I wouldn’t have blamed her for walking away.  I can have a head full of air sometimes.

That’s always nice to know you’ve got someone who’ll always be in your corner.

Turkey, thank you for taking time out of your studies to come visit today.  Valerie, I’ll extend a thank you to you as well for bringing her out to visit.

 

If you enjoyed the interview, and wish to read more of Turkey (Syntyche’s) story, you can find it on Amazon Here.

 

If you’ve enjoyed the interview, and wish me to host one for you, please stop by my Offered Services page and fill out the simple submission form.  I’ll get back to you soonest to discuss details.

Comments and questions welcome.

