Book Review: Masters of Life on Meaningful Living

 

Would you like to read an “unusual” book on meaningful living?

In this book, a young man, Tom, has conversations with Guru Dick and Guru Harry. In the conversations, Tom quizzes the gurus on how to become a master of life. Guru Dick explains that to become a master of life, one has to be rich and powerful and able to control life. On the other hand, Guru Harry expounds that a master of life is someone who lives spiritually and able to offer help and kindness.

The gurus further offer contrasting views on what is meaningful living. Among various aspects of living, the gurus discuss the following:

(1) Is giving to charity meaningful?
(2) Is going to holy places to pray, sing and do volunteer work meaningful?
(3) Is entering politics meaningful?

Finally, the gurus give their own definitions on living a meaningful life. For those who are interested in meaningful living, this book offers a fresh perspective!

 

 

 

Well, I’m not exactly sure where to begin with this one.  I’d promised to read and review a while back, then life decided to pull the schedule rug out from under my feet, so this is at least a month over due to come out.

What caught my attention was the title, as many of the classes I had to take for my degree emphasized heavily the need for self-care, and making your life meaningful.  In one way I really looked forward to reading, and possibly getting some insights into this matter.  In another, I knew I was dragging my feet, since non-fiction is not my preferred reading genre.  (Especially with 50 plus hours devoted to reading Sahara-dry text books.)  So, when I had some unexpected time I dove in, to see what this one was all about.

Sad to say, when I finished, I felt I’d just wasted a couple of hours of my day.  There are some interesting points, don’t get me wrong.  But the format they were presented in shoved me out of the reading experience early on, and never let me fully connect with the messages being presented.  The two views are completely opposed to each other, which didn’t help me much at all.  Though these are discussions, they read like a raw transcript, rather than a book.  I have trouble enough reading scripts, so again, this made it hard to absorb the information.  There is no narrative at all to provide any foundation upon which to build.  For some, this may be welcomed, but for me it was just irritating.

There are a few references to previous books, and the pertinent excerpts are given in the appendices, which I appreciated.

Overall, this was not an enjoyable read for me, and I can’t really give it a rating.  I will not be going back to re-read, and though there are parts that I think everyone should be exposed to, not one I would be able to recommend in good faith.   On the flip side, I do not discourage anyone from reading, because there ARE those gems hidden in the question/answers that I think people need to be exposed to.  For me this would have been a ratable read if the presentation had been a different format.

Comments and questions welcome.

