#YourNextFavoriteAuthor Blog Tour: Morgan Smith

Welcome to the final stop for Morgan’s Blog tour.  Don’t worry if you’re just getting started – I’ve included the other stops at the end of this one, so you can visit the others, and discover more about this new author.  Every stop has been different, and I’m not changing the pattern.  I’ve got a review for you to peruse.

A little about Morgan, before we get started:

Morgan Smith

Morgan Smith has been a goatherd, a landscaper, a weaver, a bookstore owner, a travel writer, and an archaeologist, and she will drop everything to travel anywhere, on the flimsiest of pretexts. Writing is something she has been doing all her life, though, one way or another, and now she thinks she might actually have something to say.

 

 

 

 

 

What if you weren’t what heroes are made of? What if your life was an open book? What if you were just an ordinary soldier, with ordinary skills and ordinary goals? What if you weren’t “The Chosen One” but still had to try to save the world?

“A Spell in the Country” is the story of that soldier – a young woman driven not by prophesy, but by circumstances and coincidence, and by the strengths and weaknesses that anyone might possess.

Lured into treason and only narrowly escaping the gallows, Keridwen was desperate to build some kind of life for herself. But between demons bent on death and mayhem, treachery at the very heart of the kingdom, and a prince who had every right to nurse a grudge against her, what were the odds that she could stay out of trouble for long?

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m late, I’m late!  Morgan’s book was so much fun I had to read it twice to make sure I didn’t miss anything.  I tried to remember to post this after the first go ’round, but that didn’t happen.  (Terribly sorry Morgan!)

Yes, Morgan does a wonderful job with weaving her words.  A stark, vivid world is woven out of the action and dialogue.  It’s not just a background for the story to be set against, it breathes and lives in the entire work.

And the characters – I’ll admit the first time through I had a little trouble figuring out who was whom because I was so entranced by the world.  It took a little while for the characters to really stand out by themselves.  I’m not saying that there is no character development.  I am saying that the characters were a bit shy at first.  But, once they came out to play – yeah.  They were just as vivid as the world they inhabited.

The pace may have had a little to do with me not catching up to the characters right at first.  From the very first page, there is a whirlwind of action that may leave you a bit breathless.  Once things are in motion, there is a chance to take stock of what’s going on with no lost of momentum in the story.  From there, things just keep accelerating.  Nothing felt rushed, and I didn’t encounter any places that felt like they lagged – it was just a faster pace than I’ve encountered in a long time.  Rather refreshing, actually.  When you settle in with this book, just make sure you’re seat belt is fastened, because if you’re not ready, there is a chance it can leave you behind.

Overall, I greatly enjoyed, and am looking forward to reading the next book in the series!  I’m only giving it a 4 out of 5 stars, however, because I did get left behind right up front.  I may come back and change that after I’ve had a bit longer to think about things from the second read-through.  Something tells me, this is one of the delightful stories that only improves with familiarity.

 

If you’ve enjoyed the review, and wish to connect with Morgan, you can find her on AmazonTwitterFacebook, and her Blog.

 

Tour Schedule:

 

05-24-16 Shelia Hoag

05-25-16 Assaph Mehr

05-26-16 Dianne Gardner

05-27-16 Edward Antrobus

05-28-16 K. Caffee (::chuckles:: Yes, you’re here but I linked it anyway.)

One thought on “#YourNextFavoriteAuthor Blog Tour: Morgan Smith

Comments and questions welcome.

