Cry Me a Way

Cry me a river
Give me your tears
They show me the way forward
Through the hope and your fears

A way laden with messages
A way hemmed in by hope
A way that you travel
In your own homemade small boat

Cry me a river
Give me your tears
They show me a way forward
Through the shadows and jeers

A way that is paved
By good intentions and bad
A way that is driven
By all that you have

Cry me a river
Give me your tears
They give me a map
To survive all the years

Years flavored with victory
Years of seasoned defeat
Years of success
That I can lay at your feet

Crying a river
Is no path to regret
It is the way that you have
To acknowledge what you get

You push through the sorrow
You push through the pain
The loneliness has not
Diminished your hopes or your name

So cry out that river
Get in your boat
Let the current carry you swiftly
To someplace remote

Get out of your vessel
Climb up the steep bank
Look out on the world now
For there lies your fate

A world full of wonder
A world full of hate
A world full of friends that do love you
And help heal all the scrapes

So cry me a river
Let your sorrows flow free
Today is the day when you become free
Yes, crying a river is the way forth you see

 

 

Comments and questions welcome.

