#YourNextFavoriteAuthor Blog Tour: Alvin Atwater

Forest

How do you set up your writing, so that it flows? (research, outlining, character building, etc.)

 

Very awesome question. I never told anyone about how I set up my writing to that it flows. Some of it is standard but then I take it up a notch.

I only recently started using outlines. I had to pull myself from that “high horse”- Wing-It-All-writer to the Want-to-Finish-a-Novel-in-a-Timely-Manner-author. Outlines are still not my favorite thing but are helpful if I get stuck. I don’t need to outline short stories or novelettes.

I keep a composition book for each full novel. On one page could be: characters, foes, organizations.  Another page will have places (unless it takes place in just one city). Some pages will have major items, weapons, etc. And the list goes on.
Sometimes, I’d write chapters or rewrite chapters in these composition books.

But… I often take it up to the next power. Just having my world in the composition book isn’t enough. Oh no. When I’m alone or even on walks, in my head, I’d act out my character. Well…there are some times when I needed to really enhance a character to the point where I’d be he or she aloud, for just a few minutes.

I also act out scenes. Mainly when I come up with a major scene in a novel (especially after being stuck) I feel the need to get up (when I’m alone of course) and play out these scenes, my own body being the vessel. I’d be multiple characters. And scenes are always aloud, some partially in the head.

 

It’s not embarrassing since the acting out is mainly in the head and I’m alone. I’m no actor either but it does help enhance elements of the novel. When I read, write, or listen to audiobooks, I can see a world, a movie playing. Explains why I prefer audiobooks and literature over movies. (There are a few exceptions but isn’t that with every reader?)

 

Find out more, at these other tour stops:

TBA
K. Caffee hosts a discussion about how Alvin sets up his writing
Assaph Mehr interviews Abaddon from Fragment

Comments and questions welcome.

