#YourNextFavoriteAuthor Blog Tour for: Jenna Whittaker

 

A little about Jenna Whittaker

My name is Jenna Whittaker and I am an Australian author who has been writing fantasy, science fiction, and horror novels for as long as I can remember! I have self-published 2 novels–1 science fiction and 1 fantasy, have finished the first draft of a 3rd, a dystopian fantasy (to edit and then publish later this year) and finally am currently writing the first draft of a 4th, another fantasy, about half-way done.

 

 

 

 

Welcome everyone to the last stop on Jenna Whittaker’s blog tour.  I gave her several selections to choose from for today’s stop, and here is what she chose:

How Do I Restart My Muse When it Falls Silent?

By Jenna Whittaker

I’ve been asked to do a guest post here by Kat Caffee, many thanks to her for this opportunity! The subject I’m covering is how I, personally, restart my muse when it falls silent. Now, techniques for inspiration and motivation can be different for everyone, but there’s a few tried and true ways I’ve found for myself that greatly aid in getting that writing flowing again!

Nothing’s worse than when you’re in the middle of a work-in-progress novel (be it writing out a first or second…third or fourth…draft, or slogging through editing) when your writing seems to fall flat, and it’s like trying to get water from a stone! You often wonder, ‘was I meant to be an author in the first place?’, and ‘surely it’s not this hard for everyone!’. Well, you are–if you love to write, you’re an author, published or not–and can definitely be that hard for everyone at times.

 

Take a Break

Breaks are okay, honestly. I know, it seems counterintuitive; I can’t get this writing out, so how will stopping help me? Actually, coming back to a project with fresh eyes, after having spent time doing something completely unrelated, can destroy the ‘writer’s block’ and allow your muse to talk again! It gives time for your conscious mind to have a break, and let your subconscious have a go at it!

 

Read

Another thing I like to do is read. Maybe a different genre (goes hand-in-hand with step 1) or a novel in my WIP’s genre that’s from an author I admire. Sometimes, reading skilling writing is enough to get you back into the flow of things with fresh ideas and inspiration!

 

Take Notes

From anywhere. Everyday life, snippets of overheard conversations, a sign on the roadside or an interaction between strangers…I find most of my inspiration from my dreams! I keep my phone by the bed to write down whatever I dreamed in the ‘notes’ section, usually not even recalling what I wrote–or that I wrote anything at all!–til I look in the morning. All of my finished novels have had some aspect of a line or idea from a dream in them!

 

Listen to Music

This one’s entirely subjective, and it might not work for you. I, personally, work much better–be it my writing, artwork, or even housework–if I have music on! Usually a soundtrack or something instrumental; something to keep the mood of whatever I’m writing, but not have lyrics to distract. I’ve often felt completely uninspired, open up the document and stared at it despondently…no idea what to write…then put some music on, just start writing, and it seemed as though my fingers could barely keep up with my mind! By the time I was done, I’d written 1,000+ words, when my initial goal was only 500!

 

Just Do It

And the obvious one. Just write! Sit down, open that word document, and start. Don’t worry about what’s going to happen…heck, even just write about the fact that you don’t know what to write! Oftentimes, my muse will go, ‘hey, she’s writing! Okay, better wake up!’ and off we go!

 

If you are just joining the tour, you can find out more about Jenna at:

Your Next Favorite Author has a spotlight for Jenna, and all the links to let you connect with her
Nancy Moors managed to get a wonderful interview with Jenna
Morgan Smith hosted a great interview with (), one of Jenna’s characters
Assaph Meher talked with Desu, another one of Jenna’s characters
K. Caffee is where you are at, with the tips Jenna has for getting the muse restarted when it takes a vacation.

 

Comments and questions welcome.

