—– Justine Alley Dowsett’s Kadrean Authier Stops By To Visit With The Pukah

 

Everything happens for a reason… Four people. Four very different lives. Four tales interwoven. Meet Kenzie en Shareed, the High Clan Chief’s daughter who is sent south to fulfill a treaty by marriage only to marry the wrong man; Kadrean Authier, the Crown Prince who must come to terms with his new bride, even if he doesn’t much like the idea; Garron D’Arbonne, a noble Lord who has been commanded to marry a cool and aloof princess he doesn’t love; and Vivianne Chappelle, a young and ambitious woman who is in love with her abusive father’s manservant and must find a way to avoid having her entire future decided for her. Fate and wills collide in this Shakespearian-style romantic comedy about good intentions and their unintentional consequences.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’d like to welcome everyone back.  Today, Justine is returning with Prince Kadrean Authier from Unintended.  Prince Authier, do you have a nickname you prefer?

  • No, I don’t. Though, my fiancée once called me ‘Kadie’ in public, but I think that was in an attempt to embarrass me. At least, I hope that’s all it was…
  • My name is Kadrean

Thank you, Kadrean.  Can you start us off with a little about where you were born?

  • I was born in Authera on the northern border of Ismera. It wasn’t until I was eight that my father, Raymundo Authier, took the crown and it was sometime after that when the family moved south to the capital city to live in the palace.

Since you come from a different world, I’m going to be nosy – are you human, or have any special gifts?

  • Uhhh… human. What a strange question.

Do you consider yourself to be a good or bad person?

  • I’d like to consider myself a good person and a good prince. When my father passes I will be King of Ismer and I hope to do right by my people.

Since you’re the heir, how would you describe your personality to your future subjects?

  • Charming, I hope. In all seriousness though, I’m a meticulous person with good attention to detail. I pay attention to my surroundings and I think I’ve gotten pretty good at reading people. Which really helps in my position, let me tell you.

I can well imagine.  I’m sure that being the monarch brings with it quite a bit of pressure.  How well do you handle the stress?

  • Of course. I have to be. Ismera needs a strong King and I have to set a good example so the people know they can trust me to lead them when the time comes. My father is a strong King, maybe too strong. He can be a bit domineering and harsh, even with me, his first-born. I can stand up to him when I need to though, and sometimes I need to when it comes to protecting my fiancée from his condescension.10.. Do you get along with others?
    Depends who you ask, I expect. People tend to have trouble picking up on my sense of humour sometimes. My ‘intended’ and I got off on the wrong foot when we first met. I think she’s coming around, though.

Definitely a plus.  It’s never pleasant having an enemy in your own home.  Especially when I’m sure you’ve a few in the court.  Any you can (or have) identified yet?

  • I’m a little concerned about Vance Chappelle. I know he’s up to something. There are always malcontents plotting against the royal family, but I suppose the real concern would be war. For now things are peaceful along our borders and I intend to cement that as best I can with my marriage to Kenzie, the Haldoram Clan Chief’s daughter.

What would happen if he were to complement you for no reason?

  • I know how the game is played. Vance compliments me often. Too often, which means he’s plotting something. I think he wants me to marry his daughter, Victory. Which is never going to happen. She’s got a voice like a cat in heat and her perfume is suffocating.

Would you consider her to be your only ally or friend, or are there others?

  • My sister, Margaret, is my closest ally and friend. She’s the only person who really understands me since we grew up together. It’s lonely being royalty, especially with parents like ours. Father is strict and unyielding and not exactly what I would call a ‘family person’ and mother isn’t much better.

What do you do if she insults you?

  • I would smile and laugh along. Margaret has a caustic sense of humour sometimes. At least with me. She’s not usually so open around everyone else.

Do you ever take time away from your duties to play the “what if” game?  If so, what animal would you become if you could?

  • As long as it’s hypothetical, why not? A horse, but not the domesticated kind. A wild stallion like the ones that are said to roam the Saegard Islands. I love to go riding with my sister. It’s one of the few times that we are able to feel free. There’s just something about running over open land with nothing in sight but trees and long grass.

I love horses too, and sometimes imagine myself as one.  In reality, though, is there anything you’d want to change about yourself?

  • Is it unfair to say my parents? I do love them, of course I do, it’s just that my life might have been easier without their constant attempts to control it.

Not unfair at all.  From the way you describe them, I can see where a few small changes would have made a big difference.

Prince Kadrian, thank you for letting Justine bring you out today.  It has been fun talking with you.

 

If you enjoyed the interview, and would like to read Kadrian’s story, you can find it on Amazon here:  Unintended

If you would like for me to host an interview for you, please stop by my Offered Services page, and fill out the simple submission form.  I’ll get back with you soonest to discuss details.

 

Comments and questions welcome.

